AVP: THE HUNT BEGINS FAQ

1R My Tokens have the same abilities as their Model counterparts. How does my opponent know that I am
using the correct abilities for the corresponding Tokens?
A: In the spirit of fairness, whenever you intend to use a specific ability of a Ping Token (an ability used by only some
Models of your force, such as “Hive Bloodhounds”), you must first voluntarily reveal the Token and replace it with the
corresponding Model.
Please note that the only thing that might cause a disagreement this way is whether your Xenomorph 50mm Token is
a Queen (3 Occupation Points) or a Crusher (6 Occupation Points). We believe though that people who dedicate their
efforts into playing a game of so many points as to allow both a Queen and a Crusher are honest fans and not cheaters.

U My Sergeant is part of the USCM Squad. When I reveal the Sergeant Token, can I place any Model from
the Squad?

A: No, the Sergeant has a different Ping Token image. You replace it with the Sergeant Model, and in addition you
cannot place the Sergeant Model when revealing a USC Marine image Token.

U: If I activate a Model which has not yet used its Sentry Token (gained earlier by a card effect), does it keep
its Sentry Token?

A: No. The Token is discarded before activation.

{: If my Model used up a Sentry Token (gained earlier by a card effect), can it go into Sentry again by
selecting an action or being the target of another card effect?

A: Yes, although it can only spend the Sentry Token for the basic Shooting, Close Combat, Move or Pass Actions, and
cannot perform the same action twice as normal.

{: Can my Model expend the Sentry Token to make a special action such as “Grenade Launcher”?

A: No, it can only spend the Sentry Token for the basic Shooting, Close Combat, Move or Pass Actions. Note that Special
Actions of Weapons are not Basic Shooting Actions, thus e.g. a Flamethrower cannot be used via Sentry since it requires
Burning Inferno!.

{: How can Models pass through Air Vents that are comprised of more than one Air Vent Tile?

A: No matter how many cardboard pieces an Air Vent has, it is considered one Tile for all game purposes.

U: If I use my Model’s last action point to perform the “Aim” Action, does it carry over for the next turn?

A: No. However, using Aim and then obtaining a Sentry Token by any legal means (such as gaining an extra Action
Point and spending it for Sentry), would allow you to gain the bonus should you use a Shooting Action by that Sentry
Token.

U: If a Model is removed as a casualty due to the Acidic Blood (P) Skill, does it count as a Frag for the Alien
Faction?

A: Yes.

{: The Crusher automatically engages all adjacent Tiles. Does this mean it can perform a CC Action against
Models on adjacent Tiles?

A: Yes, the only requirement to perform a CC Action is to be engaged and use a CC Weapon (see also Fully Occupied
and Engaged Tiles).

Q: 1f my Model is standing next to a Fully Occupied and Engaged Tile, it may perform CC Actions against
that Tile even though it is not on the same Tile?
A: Yes, the requirement is that your Model and the target Model count as engaged with each other. Since Tiles adjacent

to Fully Occupied Tiles count as Engaged with them, your Models may perform CC Actions against Models on the
Fully Occupied Tile.

U: can my Model Shoot at a Model it is engaged with? Or must it shoot ,,over a couple of tiles”?

A: Yes, you can and you receive the normal -10 modifier for shooting at an Engaged Tile. Do not take literally the fluff
description, the rules for Shooting are at page 26 and the only requirement is having LOS to the Target.
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Weapons with Special Actions
For simplicity’s sake, all weapons having a Special Action (such as the Flamethrower), without having a separate
profile (such as the Pulse Rifle/Grenade Launcher), may only be used by that special action. So, a Model armed with a
Flamethrower may only perform the “Burning Inferno (A)”, and not a normal Shooting Action (also see “Sentry” FAQ).

BEGINS - ERRATA/AMENDMENTS

Page 14: Seal the Bulkhead
Add to the end of this Action:
This counts as an Interact Action.

Page 15: Force the Doors Open
Add to the end of this Action:
This counts as an Interact Action.

Page 20: Hide
The Aliens Faction ability is simplified and should read:
Hide: Once a token is revealed, it must be replaced with the Alien Model shown on the token. However, if the Ping!
Token has not yet been Activated and is located on an Infested Tile, then the Alien player may decide to place in Hide
any number of his Models revealed this way, sacrificing their activation for the turn in which they were spotted. For
each Model that decides to use Hide as a reaction, place a Hide Token and an Activation Token on top of the relevant
Model, and it counts as having been Activated this Game Turn.

Page 27: Close Combat
Amend the text of the Engaged Tile to:
Engaged Tile - Any game Tile is considered to be Engaged if one of the following conditions is met.
Also, amend the text in the last paragraph thus:
In larger games, players wil often find themselves in situations where one player’s Models fully occupy a tile. Enemy
Models on adjacent Tiles to a Fully Occupied Tile by one Faction may perform Normal and Special Close Combat
Actions as if they were engaged with Models of that Tile. For other purposes, these Models do not count as engaged
(for example, they may Move freely).

Page 27 & 28: Burning Inferno and Ping! Interaction
In both images players should ignore the white lines on the bottom row of Tiles. They should not be there, since they
depict the Flamethrower’s range which is only 2 Tiles.

Page 33: Shooting and Close Combat Action Diagram
The diagram under the “IF 20 IS ROLLED” point should read:
AFTER THE MODEL MAKING THE CC OR RS TEST FINISHES ITS CURRENT ACTION, IT CANNOT MAKE
ANY OTHER ACTIONS (LOSES ITS REMAINING ACTION POINTS)

Page 58: Objective Cards
We have decided that having just one objective makes the game too easy, especially for the faction that draws a “Frag”
related mission. So, on page 58 of AVP:THB, step 3 of 10.2 Custom Victory Conditions is amended as follows:
3. Each player draws two Mission Cards from the Mission Deck, and announces the Missions for his Faction. Each
player marks his objectives with Objective Tokens when required.

In addition, replace this sentence on Page 11:

This Mission Card is then reshuffled into the Mission Deck and the next draws one card and sets up his Mission
Objectives.

With the following sentence:

If a player draws a second identical objective, he must draw new cards until he has a different second objective. Shuftle
the unused Mission Cards back into the deck.

Page 58: Predator Faction Force List
The following sentence (last sentence of 1st asterisk) should be deleted, as it has been replaced by the previous one:
This means that you can only include a Hunter Elder if you have already included a Warrior Elder.



Page 4: Contents of HLZ
In page 4 of AVP:HLZ, the Waterfall is shown twice, instead of 1 Waterfall and 1 Jungle Clearing.

Page 5: Special Actions
The Marine List should also have as 3" and 4™ Bulletins the following Skills:
o  Sleight of Hand (A)
e  Helping Hand (A)

Page 7: Predator Faction Skill List
The Predator Faction should also list the following Skill:
The Jungle is Alive (P): If a Model with this Skill ends its Activation on a Jungle Tile, you may replace it with the relevant
Ping! Token and a Vocal Mimicry Token. Place an Activation Token to both Ping! Tokens. This Skill may only be used
once per game per Predator Model.

Page 11: USCM Faction Units Table
In page 11 of AVP:HLZ, the table should not include Sentry Guns.
Also, the W/Y Exosuit (Railguns) ROA of the Railguns weapon should be 2.

Page 16: Weyland Yutani Exosuits
Ammend the cost of W/Y Exosuit with Chainguns to 92 and the cost of W/Y Exosuit with Railguns to 93.

Page 24: Mission 14 Map
In page 24 of AVP:HLZ, the “T”-shape Tile to the left of the Waterfall should be a Jungle Tile instead of Normal.

Also note that the shape of the Jungle Clearing should be Square instead of Round.




