Secondary menu

Running through a tile with enemy figure(s)

lenivietz's picture


I couldn't find it addressed in the 2.0 rulebook clearly.
Can a model run through a tile containing enemy models or must he stop there and be engaged?
It's important when it comes to missions with carrying objectives.

There is an example on page 14 that suggests, stalkers could ignore the closer marine and engage the two on the other tile. My friends don't think it's clear enough :D

Best regards!


Gacu666's picture

Hi :)

The model must stop and be engaged in CC when entering the same tile. There is a exception to that in the form of Stalkers special rule, but only these models can ignore and run through.


lenivietz's picture

Thanks for your reply. Could you point me to a paragraph, in which it is addressed?
I tried by searching the 2.0 rules pdf for keywords: enter*, engag*, mov* and stop* and it's not mentioned there.
One of the two special abilities of Stalkers allows them to move through fully occupied tiles but there's nothing about engaged tiles. The second gives them a movement boost.

Gacu666's picture

Ok i've reread the rules and I was wrong, sorry about that. You can pass through occupied tiles (if there is space).

Page 21 paragraph 3.3:

Once the Occupation Points of a Tile are reduced to zero, no more Models
can pass through or be placed on that Tile.

The Stalkers rule enables them to pass through fully occupied tile :).

Sorry about the misinformation ;)

Bogend's picture

Having a look through the rules a tile with figures from more than one faction counts as an engaged tile, therefore to move off of that tile you would be required to make a disengaged test. None of the stalkers rules allow it to ignore the fact that the tile is engaged, not in the rule book anyway and I don't have the cards with me, their climbing claws only apply to fully occupied tiles and makes no mention of engaged tiles. However you may only make one move action for a model each turn and disengaging counts as a move action. So you can not move through a tile containing enemy figures you must stop in that tile. Relevant rules pasted below from the v2 rules.

Engaged Model – Models count as Engaged if they occupy an Engaged Tile.
Engaged Tile – Any game Tile is considered to be Engaged if one of the two following conditions is met.
• A Tile is Engaged if it’s occupied by at least two Models of opposing Factions.
• A Tile is Engaged if it is adjacent to a Fully Occupied and Engaged Tile occupied by the Models from at
least two Factions.
• Models without Bases automatically Engage occupied and all surrounding Tiles.
6.6.1 Disengaging from Engagement.
A Model can try to Disengage from combat and to do so it must spend one Action Point and pass a Close Combat Skill Test. If the Test is successful, the Model may be moved away from the enemy onto an adjacent Tile as long as it is not occupied by an enemy Model.
If the Test is failed, then the Model loses its Action and must continue to fight.
Disengaging counts as a Movement Action.

This is the way I read it anyway and the rules seem to back it up. Happy to be proved wrong.

Gacu666's picture

Hmmm now I'm just confused :D. So I did play it right the first time.

Bogend's picture

In my opinion Gacu666, other than the fact that stalkers don't have a special rule to ignore engagement, yes you did. A figure may only use one move action a turn. Disengaging is a move action, so you can't move into an engaged tile and then attempt to disengage from that tile, as that is two move actions.

I think part of the problem comes from the wording about disengaging. It changes from engaged to combat. If you change the word combat to "an engaged tile" it may help clarify this disengaged part. I also don't think the example on p14 helps.

At some point I would like to see some figures gain that ability, in fact in my house rules I have given Newt that ability so she can slip away from the aliens an use marines as kind of like a shield.

It also makes a big difference tactically if you look at when tiles count as engaged. For example figures without a base engage all surrounding tiles, meaning that you can't slip by them, you have to stop when you move into that surrounding tile. You can also stop figures disengaging by surrounding the engaged tile with your own figures, because you can't disengage into a tile containing enemy figures.

Gacu666's picture

The only exception to this rule I am not sure is the advanced action: Run. You can pass 2 tiles, if you are adjacent to an engaged tile you theoretically could run through. But I agree that this should not be possible.

Chiller087's picture

Well 2nd edition rules state on pg 24, 2nd-to-last paragraph:

"...Also, a model cannot pass through a tile occupied by one or more enemy models (it must end its movement on that tile)."

Copyright © Prodos Games 2016